Van Buren County was established January 3, 1840 from the lands of Bledsoe, Warren and White counties, and is located in Middle Tennessee. The county is named for President Martin Van Buren, 1782-1862, eighth president of the United States of America, 1837-1841.

Spencer, the county seat, is named for Thomas Sharp Spencer, one of the early long hunters who probably scouted in the area of present Van Buren County. Spencer is about sixty-five miles from the geographical center of the great state of Tennessee.

This county is currently up for adoption. If you are interested in becoming the county coordinator, please visit our Adoption page