Welcome to the Fayette County TNGenWeb page!


Fayette County, located in West Tennessee, was established in 1824. Named after  Marquis de la Fayette, a soldier in the Revolutionary War. Fayette is bordered by Benton, Haywood, Shelby & Tipton counties in TN and Benton & Marshall counties in Mississippi.  The county seat is Somerville. 

Communities in the county include:  Braden, Gallaway, Grand Junction, Hickory Withe, La Grange, Macon, Moscow, Oakland, Piperton, Rossville, Somerville, and Williston

On this site, we aim to provide you with free resources that will aid you in your family history and genealogy research.