Welcome to the Dickson County, TNGenWeb site.


Dickson County lies west of Nashville, in the center of the Western Highland Rim. In 1783 the area now called Montgomery, Stewart, Dickson, Rutherford, Robertson, Hickman, Humphreys, and Davidson Counties were all included under one county name: Davidson. Prior to 1803 Davidson encompassed over three quarters of ‘Middle Tennessee’. It was during the legislature of 1803 that citizens from Robertson and Montgomery Counties filed a petition to create new counties. The petition was acted upon and the bill was passed October 25, 1803; creating Montgomery, Robertson, Stewart, Williamson, Davidson and DICKSON COUNTY.