Welcome to the Bledsoe County TNGenWeb site!

Bledsoe County was formed in 1807 from land that was formerly Indian Land as well as land carved from Roane County. The county was named for Anthony Bledsoe (1739–1788), a soldier in the Revolutionary War and was an early settler of Sumner County. He was killed in an Indian attack at Bledsoe’s Station.

Like many East Tennessee counties, Bledsoe County opposed secession on the eve of the Civil War. In Tennessee’s Ordinance of Secession on June 8, 1861, the county’s residents voted against secession by a margin of 500 to 197.  General James G. Spears, a resident of Bledsoe, served as a vice president at the pro-Union East Tennessee Convention in May and June 1861, and fought for the Union Army in the war.

The county seat is Pikeville.  Bledsoe County is bordered by Cumberland, Rhea, Hamilton, Sequatchie, and Van Buren.

County Outline Map

Our goal is to provide you with FREE genealogical resources for your family history research.  If you run across any broken links while browsing through the site, please let us know.