Johnson County Courthouse (n.d.)

Welcome to the Johnson County, TNGenWeb page.  If you have an interest in the area and a love for sharing information with others, please do let me know. I, Mary Dykes, am your county coordinator.

Johnson County was formed in 1836, from Carter County.  It lies in East Tennessee, one of the state’s three “grand divisions”. The County Seat is Mountain City (known as Taylorsville pre-Civil War).  Neighboring counties include Ashe County (NC),  Avery County (NC),  Carter County (TN), Grasyon County (VA),  Sullivan County (TN), Washington County (VA), and Watauga County (NC).


Photo credit: Johnson County Courthouse, image from the Tennessee State Library Photographs & Images Collection.

Sign up for E-mail Updates!
Did you know you can get our updates coming directly to you? Use our sign-up page to get new posts by email!