Welcome to the Union County TNGenWeb site. This site is up for adoption. If you are interested, please review our Adoption page, and contact the state coordinator.

unioncounty_picUNION COUNTY is one of Tennessee’s later counties, being first authorized in 1850, however, the final organization of the county offices was not completed until 1854. Maynardville is the county seat. When Union County was erected, its various parts were taken from these counties; Anderson, Campbell, Claiborne, Grainger, and Knox.

Current cities & towns in Union County include: Big Ridge, Braden, Luttrell, Maynardville, Plainview & Sharp’s Chapel.  In the 1930’s, town such as Loyston and Lost Creek were flooded out with the building of Norris Dam. 

Genealogists whose Union County family connections may extend back in time before Union County’s erection should examine the early records of the surrounding counties. It is said that Union County was so named because of the pro union (federal) sympathies of its citizens during the pre-Civil War period.

Union County is divided by the waters of the Clinch River. In the late 1930s, the United States government through its Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) dammed the Clinch just downriver from Union County. Before the waters backed up into Union County, people were forced to evacuate the low lands and grave yards were relocate. A rural county from the start, it has gone through that period of disruption only to become a major recreation area for the Knoxville urbanites. Beautiful Norris Lake attracts water loving visitors by the thousands.

Country music greats, Roy Acuff, Chet Atkins, and Carl Smith were born in Union County.