Rhea County Civil Districts

In 1835 Civil Districts were laid off based on voting populations. Steven Winton, Abraham Cox, Jr. and John D. Chattin were appointed Commissioners. In 1836, they were replaced by James McCanse, James A. Darwin and William McDonald.

At this time the population of Rhea county consisted of 692 qualified voters in the 8 newly created districts.

Follow this link for an 1836 Plat Map of Rhea County and the descriptions of the districts and lists of persons whose homes served as the first voting places.

This entry was posted in Geography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *